#AFCON2019: DStv takes quick look at salient numbers behind tournament

DStv and GOtv viewers get ready to feast your eyes on some spectacular football, coming straight from our continent as the2019 Africa Cup of Nations draws to a close....

DStv and GOtv viewers get ready to feast your eyes on some spectacular football, coming straight from our continent as the2019 Africa Cup of Nations draws to a close. Held in Egypt from 21 June to 19 July there will certainly be a game for everyone to enjoy. Here is a quick look at the most salient numbers behind the upcoming tournament.

1 –The 2019 AFCON will be the first edition of the tournament to feature Video Assistant Referees (VAR).

4 – Egypt has hosted the AFCON on four previous occasions: 1959 (won by Egypt), 1974 (won by Zaire), 1986 (won by Egypt) and 2006 (won by Egypt).

8/1/2019 – The date on which the Confederation of African Football chose Egypt as the new host nation for the 2019 AFCON, having earlier stripped Cameroon of host status.

3 – The number of teams which will be making their AFCON finals debut in 2019: Madagascar, Burundi and Mauritania.

1980 – The year in which Tanzania last appeared in the AFCON. They will be making just their second tournament appearance at the 2019 finals.

6 – The number of different venues which will be used at the 2019 AFCON: Cairo International Stadium; 30 June Stadium, Cairo; Al Salaam Stadium, Cairo; Alexandria Stadium; Suez Stadium; Ismailia Stadium.

74,100 – The seating capacity of the Cairo International Stadium, the largest venue for the 2019 AFCON and the stadium at which both the opening match and final will be played.

32 – This will be the 32nd edition of the AFCON.

7 – Egypt have won a record seven AFCON titles (1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008 & 2010).

24 – The record number of AFCON appearances, held by Egypt. The Pharaohs also hold the all-time tournament records for the greatest number of matches played (96), wins (54), goals scored (159) and consecutive tournament wins (3).

3 – Should HerveRenard lead Morocco to the AFCON title, he will not only join Charles Gyamfi and Hassan Shehata as three-time winners as coach, but also become the first to do so with three different nations (his first was with Zambia in 2012, followed by Ivory Coast in 2015).

18 – The all-time record goal scorer in the history of the AFCON is Cameroon’s Samuel Eto’o, who scored 18 goals across six tournaments.

24 – The number of teams which will participate in the tournament, an expansion from the old format of 16 teams.

10 – The number of previous champions present in the 2019 AFCON field: Egypt, Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria, Ivory Coast, DR Congo, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco and South Africa.

4 – The number of previous AFCON champions which did not qualify for the 2019 finals: Zambia, Sudan, Ethiopia and Congo Brazzaville.

4.5million – The prize money in US dollars which will be awarded to the 2019 AFCON winners.

52 – The number of matches which will be held at the 2019 AFCON – all live on SuperSport, your ‘World of Champions’.

99 – The record for the most goals in an AFCON tournament, set at the 2008 edition in Ghana. With an expanded format, the 2019 finals should eclipse that mark.

For the latest news, fixtures and results from the 2019 WWC, head to SuperSport’s tournament page.

Also, visit DStv and GOtv for unmatched football entertainment and www.supersport.com for all upcoming fixtures.